Meme

I have been tagged with a meme by Ubermensch – and since I do not understand the term meme, I am assuming it to be a tag and going ahead. This is an interesting one – though what I don’t like about tagging is finding others to pass it on to.

The meme goes like this:

All you have to do is select and upload one photo that you have clicked this year that is special to you. Could be anything…aesthetic, technical or personal. Also, put in a short note why it is special.

I had to think hard, as there are numerous photos I have taken this year. And most of them, associated with the lovely travels, are quite special to me. Towards the end, I found myself ambivalent between a photo I took in the Amber palace, during a revisit to hometown after several year, and the one that I finally chose:

collage40.jpg

It’s hard to list down the reasons why this picture is special. We were returning from Keylong, and were just nearing the end of Lahaul Spiti before reaching the Rohtang Pass. I had almost fallen asleep, when a sudden jerk woke me up, and I opened my eyes to this beautiful sight. The temperature was hovering close to freezing point, but there was an unspeakable peace in the air. In that moment, it was hard to imagine that this region could ever be dangerous. It was a terrain I rarely get to see, and this journey was the closest I had come to Ladhak.

The next in line for taking to whom I pass the meme (I can’t think of 5 people, so I will go with 3):

Abhishek, who was there on this trip with me

Szerelem, whose amazing pictures have made me want to visit Istanbul more than Pamuk

Hari Nair, who has made travel his business.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Pingback: The Long Hol
  2. Uber says:

    Hi Madhuri,

    Thanks for doing the meme, its a nice snap, brought back memories of my own trip there.
    You can find it here:

    http://13th-deja-vu.blogspot.com/2006/06/india-border-roads-organisation.html

    Do keep on writing, I shall be following.
    cheers

  3. Madhuri says:

    Uber, I enjoyed reading your post. I have become quite a fan of BRO who work hard to take travelers to breathtaking heights.

Leave a Reply

